Posted by: tootingtrumpet | April 6, 2009

The Strauss Tapes Part XII

nappy_dadClick

“Yeah. Sorry – I’m trying to change a nappy here. Yes I have to. Bit of catching up after eleven weeks away. Yeah, well KP will have a bit of this to do next January if he’s doing what we all think he’s doing – you could say catching up yeah. Well sod Flintoff and Harmy, no wonder they don’t, they’re from up North – things have moved on down here you know.”

“Anyway, what was it you wanted?”

“You’re joking? Not in the squad? But I’ve just won Man of the Series in seeing off the West Indies in the ODI stuff. Never mind that though, over our careers I score faster than Belly and more than, well, anyone except KP. Yes I know Twenty20 is different, but this is England. 21 not out will be a handy score at the end of the powerplay, hell, there’ll be plenty of teams 21-4 at that stage, including England if you’re thinking about Keysey and Napier up top. ”

“No, I’m not going to do a KP, but I see what he meant more clearly than ever now. Thanks a bunch.”

“Sorry darling – I didn’t mean to swear in front of the kids”

Click

Responses

  1. Not bad, TTT. Hard to disagree overall – especially since this is just the 30-man squad.

    Do you know when the 15-man squad has to be named by?

  2. Metatone – Who knows? We might have had a couple more captains and coaches by then!

  3. Although TT, according to Booth, Strauss requested not to be in the T20 mix?

  4. Yes Metatone – Like Watergate, it’s extraordinary what these tapes reveal. Or when they are written.

  5. Very amusing :)

  6. Sara – Welcome to 99.94. Glad you enjoyed this leak from the England captain. I do hope the offices of the MCC are more secure!

  7. Sorry, I’ve only just noticed this bit…
    “I’m trying to change a nappy here. Yes I have to. Bit of catching up after eleven months away.”

    Away for eleven months + baby. What are you trying to insinuate, TT?!

  8. Rooto – a Freudian slip that I’m grateful that you pointed out! I meant eleven weeks, and I’ll amend now. (The eleven weeks comes from the KP quote!)

    This is how people get sued isn’t it?

    Thanks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

