Posted by: tootingtrumpet | June 23, 2009

The Strauss Tapes Part XVII

_41313324_women416Click

“Is that you Charlotte? It’s me, Andrew… Captain of the England Cricket Team… Okay, sorry, the England Men’s Cricket Team. Congratulations! Giles Clarke has just texted me saying that “Our girls have won the Twenty20 Totty Trophy.”… He hasn’t? Well, I guess he must have lost your number or something. And, yes, I suppose he could have put it better.”

“On the other hand, I was doing a bit of outreach work in a school this morning and I tried that cricket hangman thing that Hoggy does all the time now he’s hardly getting a game. Anyway, the clue was 23 year-old, blond-haired, hostile English pace bowler, B R _ _ _? They all chorused, “Too easy” and I thought Stuey’s agent will be pleased. Then they shouted out BRUNT.”

“Anyway, the other reason I’m calling is to ask you for Sarah Taylor’s phone number. No, not like that, I’m a married man… it’s for Matt. No! He’s a married man too! Andy reckons Matt could learn a few things from her. Just minor technical wicket-keeping things. He mentioned standing up and standing back, moving the feet, head and hands, catching, leading the fielding effort, concentration, stumpings… maybe one or two others, I’m not sure. Thanks”

“Just a quick heads up too – Colly can’t go on forever.”

“See you on the bus after The Ashes”

Click

Leave a Reply

Categories

